Texas Brazos Trail Region

Participant in the Texas Historical Commission's
Texas Heritage Trails Program

Georgetown: Southwestern University

Southwestern University is the oldest chartered institution of higher learning in Texas. Southwestern University is a selective, nationally recognized, undergraduate liberal arts college with an enrollment of 1,277 students. Chartered in 1840, Southwestern was the first institution of higher learning in Texas. The University consists of The Brown College of Arts and Sciences and The Sarofim School of Fine Arts. It offers 36 major academic areas of study and pre-professional programs in medicine, law, theology and athletic training. The University’s core purpose is to foster a liberal arts community whose values and actions encourage contributions toward the well-being of humanity. A variety of events, ranging from theater and music performances to lectures by well-known speakers, are available to the public throughout the year.


  • 1001 E. University Ave.
  • Georgetown, Texas
  • 78626


Hours & Fees

  • Daily

  • Free